By The Time I Get To Phoenix / Rhinestone Cowboy – Glen Campbell

A mediados de los 70's, en Guatemala escuchamos muchisimo la canción de Glen Campbell llamada "Rhinestone Cowboy" (Vaquero de fantasía), esta canción fue lanzada exactamente en 1975.
Ocho años antes Glen Campbell tuvo otra tremenda canción "By The Time I Get To Phoenix" (Cuando Llegue a Fenix), personalmente conocí primero la versión al español, cuando escuché por primera vez la versión en inglés interpretada por Glen Campbell me gustó mucho y desde entonces se volvió en una de mis canciones favoritas. Hay que aclarar que la versión original de inglés pertenece a Johnny Rivers quién la lanzó en1965.

By The Time I Get To Phoenix
Glen Campbell
1967

By the time I get to Phoenix
She'll be rising
She'll find the note
I left hanging on her door

She'll laugh when she reads
The part that says I'm leaving
Cause I've left that girl
So many times before

By the time I make Albuquerque
She'll be working
She'll probly stop at lunch
And give me a call

But she'll just hear that
Phone keep on ringing
Off the wall, that's all

By the time I make Oklahoma
She'll be sleeping
Shell turn softly and
Call my name out low

And she'll cry just to think
I'd really leave her
Though time and time
I've tried to tell her so
She just didnt know
I would really go

======================================================================================



Rhinestone Cowboy
Glen Campbell
1975

I've been walking these streets so long
Singing the same old song
I know every crack in these
Dirty sidewalks of Broadway

Where hustle's the name of the game
And nice guys get washed away
Like the snow and the rain

There's been a load of compromising
On the road to my horizon
But I'm gonna be where
The lights are shining on me

Like a rhinestone cowboy
Riding out on a horse
In a star-spangled rodeo
Like a rhinestone cowboy
Getting cards and letters
From people I don't even know
And offers coming over the phone

Well, I really don't mind the rain
And a smile can hide all the pain
But you're down when you're riding
The train that's taking the long way

And I dream of the things I'll do
With a subway token and a
Dollar tucked inside my shoe

There'll be a load of compromising
On the road to my horizon
But I'm gonna be where
The lights are shining on me

Like a rhinestone cowboy
Riding out on a horse
In a star-spangled rodeo
Rhinestone cowboy
Getting cards and letters
From people I don't even know
And offers coming over the phone

Like a rhinestone cowboy
Riding out on a horse
In a star-spangled rodeo
Like a rhinestone cowboy
Getting cards and letters
From people I don't even know

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Responder

