Flowers on the Wall (Flores en la Pared) – The Statler Brothers

Una de las canciones que más me recuerda al programa "El Baul de los Recuerdos", es esta, "Flores en la pared", usualmente el programa lo transmitían por Radio Progreso los días sábados a partir de las 10 de la noche.

El grupo de country-pop The Statler Brothers se formó en 1955 en Staunton, EE.UU. Sin ser en realidad hermanos, comenzaron como trío de iglesia que se transformó en un cuarteto vocal llamado Kingsmen (Sin relación alguna con la banda de garage "The Kingsmen" que se hicieron famosos con " Louie, Louie" ). Cuando Johnny Cash les pidió que se fueran de gira con él, se cambiaron el nombre a The Statler Brothers. En 1966 triunfaron con el tema “Flowers on the Wall” y su álbum de debut del mismo año fue también bien recibido. La oferta de 1967 “The Statler Brothers Sing the Big Hits” produjo 2 populares singles. En 2002 The Statler Brothers anunciaron su retirada.

Flowers on the Wall
The Statler Brothers

1966

I keep hearin you're concerned about my happiness
But all that thought you're givin' me is conscience I guess
If I was walkin' in your shoes, I wouldn't worry none
While you and your friends are worried about me I'm havin' lots of fun

[CHORUS]
Countin' flowers on the wall
That don't bother me at all
Playin' solitaire till dawn with a deck of fifty-one
Smokin' cigarettes and watchin Captain Kangaroo
Now don't tell me I've nothin' to do

Last night I dressed in tails, pretended I was on the town
As long as I can dream its hard to slow this swinger down
So please don't give a thought to me, I'm really doin' fine
You can always find me here, I'm havin' quite a time

[repeat CHORUS]

Its good to see you, I must go, I know I look a fright
Anyway my eyes are not accustomed to this light
And my shoes are not accustomed to this hard concrete
So I must go back to my room and make my day complete

[repeat CHORUS]

Don't tell me I've nothin' to do.

Video.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Responder

