Long Cool Woman (In A Black Dress) – The Hollies

Una de las primeras canciones que conocí de "The Hollies" fue esta, en las emisoras de Guatemala la anunciaban como "Mujer larga y fría vestida de Negro".
A través del tiempo he conocido a personas que dicen que esta canción la cantaba "Credence Clearwater Revival", si suena un tanto similar a "Credence" pero no tiene nada que ver un grupo con el otro.

Ingresó al Hot 100 de U.S.A. en Junio de 1972, llegó a ocupar la posición #2

Lyrics
Long Cool Woman (In A Black Dress)
The Hollies

Letra: Allan Clarke, Roger Cook, Roger Greenaway

Saturday night, I was downtown
Working for the F.B.I.
Sitting in a nest of bad men
Whiskey bottles piling high

Bootlegging boozer on my west side
Full of people who are doing wrong
Just about to call up the DA man
When I heard this woman sing a song

A pair of 45`s made me open my eyes
My temperature started to rise
She was a long cool woman in a black dress
Just a five nine, beautiful, tall
With just one look, I was a bad mess
Cause that long cool woman had it all

I saw her heading to the table
Like a tall walking big black cat
When Charlie said I hope
That you`re able, boy
Cause I`m telling you
She knows where it`s at

Then suddenly, we heard the sirens
And everybody started to run
A jumping out of doors and tables
Well, I heard somebody shooting a gun

Well the DA was pumping my left hand
And a she was a holding my right
Well, I told her don`t get scared
Cause you`re gonna be spared

I`ve gotta be forgiving
If I wanna spend my living
With a long cool woman in a black dress
Just a five nine, beautiful, tall
With just one look, I was a bad mess
Cause that long cool woman had it all

Had it all, had it all
Had it all, had it all
Ooooh, had it all

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Responder

